Adobe Document Cloud

The best PDF tools. When and where you need them.

Glycerin can be made from pork or beef or vegetable fat. Most toothpaste companies do not have this information they have to get it from their Carrageenan suppliers and it will takes times. All other products are made with non Halal or Kosher certified ingredients according to the company. Meanwhile, in the early s, major hospitals in Finland [39] were the first institutions outside of the United States to adopt and adapt the VistA system to their language and institutional processes, creating a suite of applications called MUSTI and Multilab. The upshot of all of the foregoing is that the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful haram and impure najis , even in small quantities. These ingredients are completely different to the alcohols found in alcoholic drinks; they are not specified as alcohols and in fact they are usually solids i.

We keep making the best PDF solution better.

The VA and the DoD had been instructed for years to improve the sharing of medical information between the two systems, but for political reasons made little progress toward bringing the two dialects back together.

Thus, the VistA code base was split four ways. WorldVistA was formed from this group and was incorporated in March as a non-profit corporation. This allowed the WorldVistA board of directors to pursue certain activities obtaining grants, creating contracts, and making formal alliances that they otherwise could not pursue as an informal organization. It is, however, an organization independent of the VA system and its version of VistA therefore differs from that of the VA's. Nevertheless, it maintains as an objective that its public version be compatible interoperable with the VA's official version.

Co-operation with the maintainers and vendors of OpenVistA , another widely deployed open source public version of VistA, helps maintain interoperability and a standardized framework.

In summary, it was the joint collaboration of thousands of clinicians and systems experts from the United States and other nations, many of them volunteers, that the VistA system has developed. There have been many champions of VistA as the electronic healthcare record system for a universal healthcare plan. VistA can act as a standalone system, allowing self-contained management and retention of healthcare data within an institution. Combined with BHIE or other data exchange protocol it can be part of a peer-to-peer model of universal healthcare.

It is also scalable to be used as a centralized system allowing regional or even national centralization of healthcare records.

It is, therefore, the electronic records system most adaptable to a variety of healthcare models. In addition to the unwavering support of congressional representatives such as Congressman Sonny Montgomery of Mississippi, numerous IT specialists, physicians, and other healthcare professionals have donated significant amounts of time in adapting the VistA system for use in non-governmental healthcare settings. In November , the U.

Enzi of Wyoming with 38 co-sponsors, that would require the government to use the VA's technology standards as a basis for national standards allowing all health care providers to communicate with each other as part of a nationwide health information exchange.

Two similar House bills were introduced in late and early ; no action has been taken on either of them, either. In April , Sen. Rockefeller of West Virginia introduced the Health Information Technology Public Utility Act of calling for the government to create an open source electronic health records solution and offer it at little or no cost to safety-net hospitals and small rural providers.

An effort has been made by the Astronaut team, WorldVistA team, members of the VistA Software Alliance, and the OSEHRA to standardize structure between the platform derivatives to allow for future interoperability, as part of the vision for a national healthcare network record system. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. This article is about the nationwide health information system developed by the US Department of Veterans Affairs.

Blood Bank Workarounds Laboratory: Consolidated Mail Outpatient Pharmacy Pharm: Retrieved 27 August Health Econ Policy Law. Kennedy School of Government. Archived from the original PDF on January 14, Retrieved January 22, How Veterans Affairs transformed itself — and what it means for the rest of us". United States Department of Veterans Affairs Archived from the original on July 26, Retrieved July 13, Archived from the original on 20 January General Surgery News Vol.

US Department of Veterans Affairs. ElectronicHealthcare, 7 2 Archived from the original on February 19, CrossOver Health Jan Virtual Medical Worlds August Version 2 August Perot Systems Sep Computerizing Large Integrated Health Networks: OpenHealth News Jan Archived from the original on September 26, The natural flavorings in our yogurts can contain trace amounts of alcohol, and it's also true that small amounts of alcohol are used the the culture fermentation process; so it is possible that minute quantities of alcohol can be present in our yogurts.

Sincerely, The Folks at Stonyfield. Thank you for visiting http: I wanted to get back to you about your ingredient questions. I apologize but unfortunately this ingredient information is not currently available. As you can imagine our products change frequently, and maintaining a list of products for specific dietary practices would be virtually impossible. The suppliers from which we obtain the natural flavoring will not reveal the exact ingredients to us, as they consider it to be proprietary.

They only have to reveal if their natural flavoring contains major allergens. The exact source of the gelatin used in our products cannot be easily determined because the hide used in our products can be from both beef and pork. When alcohol is used in our products in a significant amount or has a technical effect it will be labeled on the ingredient line.

However, if alcohol is present in a minute amount it will not be listed. I appreciate you contacting us. MCG admin was for few days due to some technical issues. This is the reason questions were not answered. Similarly the new products, News, Alert were also not working. We apologized for this inconvenience.

There are over questions to be answer so please be patient. I contacted timhortons customer care department by email and here is what they said: Thank you for taking the time to contact Tim Hortons Head Office with your inquiry. Your request was for information regarding the use of ethyl alcohol as a flavour carrier in our products.

Many of our baked goods contain added flavours, which may contain trace amounts of ethyl alcohol. Please note that any alcohol in baked products will evaporate during the baking process.

Please note however that ethyl alcohol may be an ingredient in the flavourings for all donut fillings. The alcohol content in the finished product would be trace.

Please note that if natural or artificial flavour is listed, then the product may contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier. We have confirmed that our Iced Capps contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier for the flavors. We have also confirmed that the flavors used in our donuts without fillings do not contain alcohol. Adel Aleksandrov has provided the following information on Nature Smart Vitamins. MCG would like to appreciate this inforamtion:.

Assalyamu aleikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh! Here is a brand new information on gelatin in Nature Smart vitamins. Just got a response from the manufacturer. Disney Frozen Gummies Product No. If you have any further questions, our Consumer Affairs Representatives can be reached toll-free at , Monday through Saturday, 9am-7pm EST. We look forward to serving you in the future. Kindest regards, Chris Customer Care Department http: Mondelez Company has informed MCG that they do not track the flavor used in Halls cough drops for use of alcohol in them.

They can not answer that Halls cough drops are free of any animal derived ingredients and alcohol in flavor Reference number dated December 23, Salam Alaykum, this isn't a question it's actually advice for subway lovers I saw someone ask about cross contamination in the veggies, I see the workers they ONLY change the gloves when it's a new person ordering, they still touch the pork and chicken then go straight to the veggies, so yes the veggies are contaminated by haram meat Subway always has new freshly cut veggies in the fridge, they don't always have all the veggies but they have tons, well to avoid eating contaminated veggies ask the worker to use the veggies in the fridge, they're fresh and not contaminated!

I hope you post this for everyone to see. Jazzak Allah Kheir for this website. Thanks for contacting Pantene, Rasheed. We appreciate your interest in Pantene. Pantene products may or may not contain animal by-products, depending on what ingredient source was available at the time of manufacture.

The ingredients may be derived from a variety of vegetable sources, such as coconut or palm kernel oil, or animal sources, typically beef or pork, hides or bones. Yes some ingredients used in Beauty Care products are listed as alcohols.

These ingredients are completely different to the alcohols found in alcoholic drinks; they are not specified as alcohols and in fact they are usually solids i. They are derived from renewable plant sources and are used as preservatives which keep the product pure and free from contamination.

Hope this is helpful. The following Tums products are mashbooh because Tums company has no information about presence or absence of alcohol in artificial flavors Refernce number All softgel products are made with gelatin.

Most of the time the gelatin used in softgel is from pork because it is cheap gelatin in USA. It is not a Halal product due to presence of Carmine red color which is obtained from insect. All insect except locust are Haram. This information was provided by sister: I would like to bring this to your attention that Revlon has recently launched a new lipstick line called "Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick" which has I think 10 or 12 shades.

Recently I bought two of its shades named "Rose" and "Primerose". A sister has provided this information in which the company is giving wrong information that their Veet Hair Removing cream products are free of animal derived ingredients but they are not giving the source of Stearyl Alcohol which is a fat based ingredient. If they claim no animal derived ingredients used then Stearyl Alcohol should be from vegetable fat and they can not write no information on it.

The following we-mail wrote our sister:. For more information regarding ingredients, please visit our website at www.

We appreciate your interest in our products and we thank you for the opportunity to answer your questions.

All above alcohol are not Ethyl Alcohol but they are fatty alcohol or fatty waxes made from either animal fat such as pork fat or vegetable fat such as soy fat. Only manufacturer will know the source of these ingredients. The company told MCG that gelatin in the patch is made from pig skin so it is a Haram patch. Mozarrella and other cheeses at Whole Foood Market supermarkets under brand without kosher symbol are not Halal. Dear Brothers, Assalam Alaikum WRB, I called and was confirmed today by the respective consumer contact departments that their products are NOT halal since they contain ingredients sourced from beef or pork.

MCG tried for weeks to get the ingredients of pizza crust, pizza sauce and cheese but company is refused to supply so MCG decided it to assign Mashbooh status. According to a Hadith we should stay away consuming any mashbooh foods and food ingredients. Mar 25, Type: The answer to the first question is yes, for it is a CNS depressant like ethyl alcohol, albeit with the differences of being synthetic which would make a difference only in the hanafi madhhab , and being very toxic.

Avoiding it when there is no need is an act of cautious piety. Muslims, when capable, should work on finding alternatives to it. N Engl J Med ; A year-old man with alcoholism was admitted to the hospital with chest pain, for which the workup was unremarkable.

At discharge, the patient became acutely hypotensive and delirious. He was afebrile, oxygenating well, and had a nonfocal neurologic examination. Intravenous fluids and vasopressors were administered. The results of routine laboratory tests were normal, as were the results of arterial blood gas and serum ethanol measurements, toxicology screening, blood and urine cultures, and computed tomography of the head. Urinalysis showed a trace of acetone. The following day, the patient was hemodynamically stable, but his mental status did not improve.

Because of a sweet, ketotic odor in the room, tests of serum isopropyl alcohol isopropanol and acetone levels were ordered. Before those results were obtained, the patient was seen in the bathroom drinking the alcohol-based hand wash from its dispenser.

The patient's isopropanol level was Ingestion of approximately ml of isopropanol can be lethal owing to depression of both the central nervous system and myocardial function. Ingestion of methanol, ingestion of ethylene glycol, and ingestion of isopropanol all lead to an elevated plasma osmolal gap. However, isopropanol does not cause metabolic acidosis with an elevated anion gap.

Secondary alcohols, such as isopropanol, oxidize to ketones, such as acetone, which under physiologic conditions cannot be further oxidized to acid. Isopropanol-containing hand sanitizers are ubiquitous. Physicians should be aware of the potential for isopropanol intoxication, especially among alcoholics, in the hospital setting. Perhaps changing the description on the container from isopropyl alcohol to isopropanol or propaneol would decrease the attraction of these hand sanitizers for potentially dangerous abuse.

University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH emadia email. Thank you for contacting Little Caesars October 07, Dear Shifa Our mozzarella cheese, pizza sauce, and dough do not contain any animal by products or alcohol. The four cheese blend used on the Soft Pretzel Crust pizza does contain animal rennet. If you have any additional questions please contact us at When you have non Halal cheeses in the store so there is great chance of cross contamination of non Halal cheese with mashbooh pizza cheese.

Most food dyes and flavorings have an alcohol base. However, as candy is cooked at high temperatures, any alcohol present is "flashed out", and therefore not present in the finished products. There are no animal products or by-products in our products. So according to this canwe eat toostie roll candy. But it does not satisfy the Muslim community. It is not the fault of SPAR.

SPAR is a pork-seller. There is no secret conundrum in this fact. S A website www. Dum Dum Pops Website Contact. We do not add any alcohol to our Dum Dums. Some of the flavors are processed with alcohol but do not contain alcohol when made into a sucker.

These flavor include blueberry, blu raspberry, cotton candy, and mango. Tue, 29 Jul Thank you for your interest in Nature's Bounty! The source of gelatin in the Fish Oil mg Prod No. This product is free of pork. Krispy Kreme do not have ingredients statements on their website and they refused to provide to MCG by e-mail. Due to the fact that written information can be manipulated, we have chosen not to email out information regarding these specific ingredients.

Because of the sensitivity of these questions, we would like to verbally communicate with each of our customers that are interested in finding out more information.

With this, we also reduce the risk of modified versions of our information becoming available on social media websites. I have your answers finally, They came to me in two parts.

Here they are as follows: They are not free of animal by products. GlaxoSmithKline the maker of Sensydyne toothpaste has informed MCG that all Sensodyne toothpastes are made with alcohol containing flavors with reference number dated July 2, Recently many toothpaste companies is started to use Carrageenan in some of their toothpaste. Carrageenan is a mashbuh ingredient and it is Halal only if Potassium Chloride is used to crystallized the Carrageen but if they use ethyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol then Carrageenan will not be Halal.

Most toothpaste companies do not have this information they have to get it from their Carrageenan suppliers and it will takes times. MCG advises Muslims to avoid toothpaste containing Carrageenan unless the toothpaste companies informed that alcohol or isopropyl alcohol was not used during processing of Carrageenan.

MCG has reconfirmed with Dairy Queen with reference number dated June 11, that they do not use kosher certified ingredients. Each franchise buy their own raw material from different suppliers. The products, including Dairy Queen soft serve, sold in Dairy Queen restaurants come from a variety vendors. As you may already know, most Dairy Queen restaurants are independently owned and operated franchises. IDQ recommends that you contact the Dairy Queen restaurants you frequently patronize and inquire whether their facility has been certified Kosher or if their products are Kosher certified.

Thank you again for contacting Dairy Queen. We appreciate your interest in our products, and I hope this information is helpful to you. This is a Indian product. AppFiz is a carbonated apple juice product manufactured by Parle Agro. These are ingredients of AppFiz in India:. If no pork or beef gelatin was used during processing of reconstitute apple juice and no Haram hidden ingredients are used and if it has a green dot on the package then it can be consider as Halal.

Muslim retail and consumer groups in Malaysia on Thursday called for a boycott of products made by Britain-based confectioner Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc, after two chocolate varieties were found to have infringed Islamic rules by containing pork DNA. Cadbury Malaysia on Monday recalled the Dairy Milk chocolates after the finding by Malaysian authorities in a random test. I want you to please test in your labs and tell if Cadbury here in Pakistan is halal or haram.

Lactose is made from whey, whey is a by-product of cheese making. Whey from which the lactose obtained has to be sweet whey not acid whey where rennet enzyme is not used. Milk is curd by adding rennet enzyme to milk. Rennet enzyme can be made from pork or beef or microbial source.

Some times Lipase fat breaking enzyme is also added to milk. Again Lipase enzyme can be obttained from pork or beef or microbial source. It is possible that the lactose is obtained from a dairy plant where cheese is made with pork rennet, pork lipase and also microbial rennet and microbial lipase.

Probably the line was not properly cleaned so cross contamination happened or finished microbial enzyme used whey may be contaminated with pork rennet whey. Same above sitauation may have happened. Halal certification is not easy, you have to consider every possiblity, some Halal certifying organizations do not pay attention to details and possiblity of cross contamination.

You have to be trained or have experience in working in cheese plants and other food plants. Similarly have very good Total Quality Management of cheese plant or other food plant. Majority of Cadbury products in USA and Canada are kosher certified and no pig derived ingredients are used.

If Cadbury do not use alcohol as a solvent or carrier in the flavors then they are Halal. But if alcohol is used as solvent or carrier in the flavors then all Cadbury products are considered as Not Halal. Beside flavor all other ingredients are Halal because it is under Orthodox Kosher certification which meets Halal requirements.

No pig by product are used in US or Canadian made Cadbury products because they are kosher certified by orthodox Kosher organization. Mondelez A old Nabisco Snack company is not telling Muslim consumers in USA and Canada whether their products are made with alcohol containing flavors or not while other food companies provide information about presence or absence of alcohol in flavors.

This news was brought to us by Br. Hasan Raza a Muslim consumer before the following news was published on www. The scandal over the ingredient banned under Islamic dietary laws has sparked outrage among some Muslim groups in Malaysia, who have called for a boycott on all products made by Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc. Concerns over halal food standards could jeopardize Mondelez's sales in Muslim markets that are larger than Malaysia, such as Indonesia, home to the world's largest Muslim population, and the Middle East.

Sparingga said the tests would be done on the 10 varieties of Cadbury products that are certified in Indonesia as halal - or permissible according to Islamic law. Those products did not include the two types of Dairy Milk chocolate that Cadbury Malaysia recalled this week after finding pork traces. Malaysian Islamic authorities tried to cool anger against Cadbury by saying it remained unclear if the contamination was the company's fault.

They have not been found guilty so this is just a suspension," he added. JAKIM, which is responsible for awarding halal certification in Malaysia, is conducting further tests on the suspect Cadbury products to confirm the initial findings by the health ministry. Cadbury Malaysia said in a statement that it had withdrawn the two products as a precaution and that it had no reason to believe there was pork-related content in its other foods.

Products in Muslim nations are regularly checked to ensure they are halal. Besides pork, items considered non-halal by Muslims include alcohol and the meat of animals and birds that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites. Non-halal food scandals have erupted in Southeast Asia before. The then Indonesian president stepped in to try to defuse the row which had hit the company's share price. Ajinomoto's local company subsequently publicly apologized and withdrew some products from the Indonesian market.

On Thursday, a Malaysian Muslim retail group said it would ask the stores it represents to stop selling all products made by Cadbury, Mondelez and U. Together with a Muslim consumer group, it called on Malaysians to boycott all those companies' products. Its brands include Oreo cookies and Ritz crackers. Malaysia's National Fatwa Council, which issues official guidance on Islamic issues, said on Friday it supported the withholding of halal status on the two Cadbury products but that the company should not be punished unless the breach was proven to be intentional.

Islam is not a rigid religion. Isopropyl Alcohol is not used in the processed food products but used in very few ingredients during its processing for crystallization. Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol help in attracting water molecule from food ingredients during its processing. Then Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol is completely taken out from the ingredients. MCG received a question from a Washington D. C doctor and a professor from Istanbul Turkey providing medical research from text book and medical literature that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication.

MCG checked couple of medical literature to find out that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication among people. All the information about Isopropyl alcohol has been corrected on MCG 's www. Ingredients of Tuna Salad obtained from the tuna salad box from Dunkin Donut stores by two brothers:.

Please ask for ingredients and specially wine when you order Tuna Sandwich at any restaurant or any fast food chain. MCG is thankful to Br. Hasan Raza and his friend for providing above information which benefit to Muslims.

MCG has tried to get the technical answers from Little Caesar Pizza regarding the Mozzarella cheese and they said to us and Muslims consumers that their cheese pizza is not Halal or Kosher certified. Assalamu Alaikum, Pizza Hut recently changed their cheese blend. Do you know if it is still halal Also, they use Romano and other cheeses in their new "hand tossed" pizza as well as the "cheese lovers," "stuffed crust" and "cheese lover's" lines.

I do not believe that their Romano or parmesan has been inspected, can you please note this for others Jazakallah Khairn for all of your efforts.

May Allah make it easy for you. MCG went to a local Pizza Hut store and asked a store manager about cheese pizzas, as well as any additional sprays used on top of them. He gave the following responses: Personal pan pizza crust is made in pan and they use only vegetable oil to lubricate it.

All screens are sprayed with a food released spray named Gold N Sweet. This is made by Ventura Foods. He showed me the can and its ingredients: He mentioned also using Garlic Seasoning on hand tossed crust but did not give its ingredients.

He said all the vegetables used are fresh vegetables. He said that only Mozzarella cheese is applied on all crust. Additional Parmesan, Romano cheese and Alfredo Sauce are applied to only cheese lover's pizza. MCG then asked the Pizza Hut customer service department to provide the ingredient statements of the following: Anything spray or applied on personal pan pizza.

If you have a question on a specific ingredient for a specific dietary concern, we will be glad to help you with that question". It is possible for them to change their mind and provide ingredient statements. Until then, their cheese pizza is musbooh. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins.

MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them. Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal.

Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil for Omega fish oil under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search.

You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil Omega fish oil and where to buy them. There is no kosher symbol on the package of Cheetos and Doritos. This makes them Non Halal because they can add any Haram Hidden or Processing aid ingredients without mentioning under the ingredients statement. Cheese used in Cheetos and Doritos are not Kosher certified and not Halal.

Sine these products are not under Halal or Kosher certification then Frito Lay can use non kosher certified flavors or colors. There is no restriction for Frito Lay to make Cheetos or Doritos on their own lines or on co-packers line where pork containing products are made. This exposes a great possibility of cross contamination of pork containing ingredients.

All these snacks are very attractive to adults and children but there is a Hadith which says that Allah will not accept your dua for 40 days if a Muslim eats intentionally a bit of Haram food. So MCG recommend Muslims not consume above snacks. Lauren A dated March 05, The following article was from: In principle, it should be remembered that, alcohol extracted from grapes, dates and barley is decisively unlawful haram , both its oral intake as well as application, for it is considered to be impure najis.

This type of alcohol is known as Khamr wine , and it will be unlawful to even consume one drop of such alcohol according to all the classical scholars. Allah Most High says: However, if the alcohol is extracted and derived from other than grapes, dates and barley, then there is a difference of opinion between the scholars with regards to its ruling. They base their view on the Hadith narrated by Abu Huraira Allah be pleased with him stated above. Also, the Messenger of Allah Allah bless him give him peace is reported to have said: However, the other three schools of thought, i.

Sunan Abu Dawud, No. Thus, according to these scholars, all forms of alcohol beverages will be considered unlawful haram and impure najis.

Once it is established that a given beverage intoxicates, it will be unlawful to consume even a small serving of that beverage. Imam al-Haskafi Allah have mercy on him states: Imam Ibn Abidin Allah have mercy on him explains the above: The hanafi scholars have stated that the. Fatwa of prohibition given in our times is due to widespread Fitna…. The upshot of all of the foregoing is that the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful haram and impure najis , even in small quantities.

Any beverage that intoxicates in a large amount, even a drop of it will be considered unlawful haram. Based on above article the Hanafi ulema from England, South Africa and some in USA says any alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley is consider "Synthetic Alcohol" and can be consumed by Muslims. Technically this is a complete wrong definition because if alcohol obtained from corn then it is consider as synthetic alcohol according above ulema. But the process to obtain alcohol from corn is all natural and it is not synthetic.

The alcohol obtained from corn is a result of yeast fermentation of corn. Where corn starch is breakdown to simple sugar then enzyme Zymase from yeast cells breaks the sugar to alcohol and carbon dioxide and it is all natural process. There are two kind of ethanol or alcohol, one called chemical Ethanol and Other is Bio Ethanol. The alcohol obtained from chemical ethanol process called synthetic alcohol in USA where ethanol or alcohol is obtained hydration of ethylene gas and Bio ethanol is obtained from fermentation of sugar by yeast.

The source of sugar are many such from fruits grape, dates or nay fruits or from grain such as corn, wheat. You cannot called source other than grape or date as or barley synthetic because if ethanol obtained from corn then corn is not a synthetic source it is a natural source. Hajrat Imam Abu Hanifia RA's main intension was to get energy to do Ibadah because there are not many energy providing food products are available at that time.

Many ulema miss the ibadah point. Now a days there are Halal foods are available to provide source of energy to do Ibadah. Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but. The following information are obtained from internet regarding synthetic alcohol: Gasification produces a synthesis gas , sometimes called syngas from synthesis gas , which, after cleaned, consists mostly of molecular hydrogen and carbon monoxide.

The syngas is then passed over a catalyst, in a controlled environment, creating synthetic molecules, like the ethanol molecule pictured above left. The actual type of molecule depends on the catalyst used in the process. Synthetic ethanol is chemically identical to bio-ethanol, the only difference is that bio-ethanol is made from the fermentation of carbohydrate derived sugars, followed by distillation, identical to the process used for making alcoholic beverages such as vodka or whisky; whereas synthetic alcohol is produced through a thermo-chemical process which begins with the creation of syngas from the gasification of a wide range of resources, and therefore not limited to grains and sugars.

Questions about the suitability of synthetic alcohol for use in manufacturing vinegar arose as early as l By Administration Information Letter No. Pharmacopeia, one of the official drug compendiums under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act; consequently, ethyl alcohol intended for drug use must comply with the standards and tests laid down in the Pharmacopeia.

Since the Pharmacopeia does not place any restrictions as to the method of manufacturing ethyl alcohol, synthetic alcohol which complies with the standards and tests set forth in the official monograph may legally be distributed for drug use.

This position, however, has not been the subject of any court review. Questions have been raised as to whether we can or should continue to consider synthetic alcohol unsuitable for food use. Their reply included the following paragraphs: It is our opinion that most of the distilled spirits used in the production of vinegar are derived from natural gas and petroleum. When such alcohol is used in the production of vinegar, we would consider any reference to 'grain alcohol' or 'neutral grain spirits' would be misleading for the alcohol and also the name 'grain vinegar' would be misleading, except for connoting strength, e.

Incidentally, I might add that most of the alcohol used in the production of medicinal preparations and flavors is synthetic. Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as "grain alcohol" or "neutral grain spirits" is considered false and misleading. They even never used word getting.

There is no claim on their website that they do not use animal derived ingredients and alcohol. But in Europe and Australia following termeinology is used for flavors:. Flavoring substances obtained from plant or animal raw materials, by physical, microbiological or enzymatic processes. They can be either used in their natural state or processed for human consumption, but cannot contain any nature-identical or artificial flavoring substances.

They are only Halal if they obtained from Halal sources and alcohol was not used as a solvent. Flavoring substances that are obtained by synthesis or isolated through chemical processes, which are chemically and organoleptically identical to flavoring substances naturally present in products intended for human consumption.

They cannot contain any artificial flavoring substances. Flavoring substances not identified in a natural product intended for human consumption, whether or not the product is processed. These are typically produced by fractional distillation and additional chemical manipulation of naturally sourced chemicals, crude oil or coal tar. Although they are chemically different, in sensory characteristics are the same as natural ones. They are only Halal if no alcohol is used as a solvent in the flavor.

Amal from England has sent the following e-mail to inform our brothers and sisters in UK. Lansoprazole30 inhibits the production of gastric acid in stomach. Thank you for confirming this information.

This is a product licensed by another company called Krka. I have contacted Krka and they have confirmed the gelatine is sourced from a mixture of bovine and porcine. I have the following information for you sent to me by Nivea in regards to animal derived ingredients.

Hydrolyzed Pearl - derived from Pearl protein fresh water pearls. We do not use any egg based ingredients in our products. As formulations do change from time to time, we would recommend that you check the ingredients listing on the product that you wish to use for the ingredients listed above, prior to use.

Please avoid all those Nivea products if they are made from above ingredients. Wal-Mart buy food and non food products from many differ rent suppliers throughout the country.

They do not specify the source of ingredients so the same Great Value food product without Kosher symbol on the package although all ingredients look Halal and Equate non food products are made with ingredients having different sources like some from animal source and other with plant source.

So there is no guarantee that they are Halal. Only those Great Value food product with kosher symbol if they meet Halal requirements are Halal. All Equate personal care products and on the counter medicine are not Halal for Muslims. Poultry slaughterhouses that employ a mechanical fixed blade mechanised killing to slaughter birds would no longer be accredited by the HFA for halal status with effect from 3RD MARCH ".

US and Canadian Halal meat certification organizations should follow the same so that US and Canadian Muslims consumers will not have to be worry about the Halal status of chicken. MCG thinks this is due to a declaration by 40 British Islamic Scholars who declared in that machine slaughtering of chicken is not consider as Zabiha. Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green color on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

All state food authorities in India have been instructed to take necessary action to ensure compliance of above wwe. Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely: Every package of Non-Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in red colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

If this occur then green dotted food product became non Halal for Muslims. For example if a green dotted food product was made with Carrageenan, a Mushbooh ingredient and also it is a vegetarian food gum but ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol or Potassium Chloride is used to crystallized the Carrageenan during its processing.

If ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol was used then carrageenan became non Halal. If Potassium Chloride was used then it will become a Halal ingredient.

The manufacturer of that product has informed the Muslim consumers that no animal derived ingredients were used as hidden or processing aid ingredients in that food product. Always write to them whether alcohol was used in any flavor for both Green or Red Dot containing food Products or alcohol was used in food product or in food ingredients.

MCG has found during its investigation of Halal certification of dry beverage mixes that one of the dry ingredients mix was made by another company by using alcohol in flavor before spray drying the ingredients mix.

There are some food products at supermarkets with Halal symbols but they're made with alcohol containing flavors or alcohol was used during processing. Please investigate with Halal certifying organizations whether they Halal certify food products made with alcohol containing flavor or alcohol was used during processing.

MCG Ulema said that when Halal ingredients touch the alcohol before manufacturing then those Halal ingredients will lose their Halal status.

Evaporating or drying of alcohol during processing does not make the food products Halal. There is no hadith which says that a certain amount or percentage of intoxicants is allowed in Halal foods. This very minute amount of naturally produced alcohol is acceptable in Islam.

Man added alcohol in flavors or foods is not acceptable. It is a fact that some flavor or food companies use alcohol as a solvent in liquid natural or artificial flavors before they spray dry the flavors or food products, or dry mixes. Many cake mix companies such as Betty Crocker use dry flavor where alcohol was used before drying.

Some food or flavor companies claim that there is no alcohol in the finished product because alcohol is dried out or evaporated during spray drying or processing. There are some exceptions. This includes non dairy coffee creamer, dry seasoning mixes, cake mixes, other spray dried food products, or ingredients mixes. Carrageenan is a mushbooh gum obtained from seaweeds but during its production it is crystallized either by Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl Alcohol or Potassium Chloride KCl or none of all.

If Potassium Chloride KCL or Isopropyl alcohol is used but taken out completley or none of any thing was used during the processing of Carrageenan then it will be Halal.

Only the manufacturer of Carrageenan know what they use to crystallized Carrageenan during its processing. So ask manufacturer of food product who used Carrageenan to find out from their Carrageenan supplier whether Ethyl Alcohol was used during the processing of Carrageenan. Mon, Oct 21, at Reference - A To: It is always important to hear from our consumers, and we appreciate the time you have taken to contact us. These are excellent questions Jamil.

Firstly, we do in fact have an animal ingredient within the Stearate of Magnesium Stearate. We hope this information helps. Again Jamil, thank you for your interest in our company. Should you have any comments or questions in the future, please contact us via our website www. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday, 8: EST and will be happy to assist you.

Consumer Care Center A. A Muslim consumer has provided the following e-mail to MCG indicating alcohol is used in all flavor so all Entenmann Bakery Products made with flavors are not Halal. Assalamualaikum, I have contacted entenmanns company bimbo bakeries usa consumer inquiry line and asked them if alcohol is used in there products in general and he said if flavors are used then yes alcohol is used but it gets evaporated after cooking the product so there is almost none left.

There are lot of items which are Halal only if no hidden ingredients are used. All ingredients used in the menu at Chipotle Restaurant are listed under Chain Restaurants subsection under Food Products section.

We remind Muslim consumers that they should be aware that Haram items are served at Chipotle Restaurants. So it is their responsibility to avoid cross contamination with Haram items. Please forward these requirements to the person who is a technical in charge of your cheese. Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk. Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves.

Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases. Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk added. Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese. Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese. Harmless plant based enzyme is added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese.

Ajmal and send to MCG the e-mail is listed below. Beside her, other sisters also requested to inquire about the Halal status of The Body Shop cosmetic. MCG did further investigation and asked The Body Shop whey their employee Milan Zivkovic wrote in reference number that they use gelatin. The company told MCG on August 30, that she wrote it wrong and she no longer with the company and said their company is supplying some vegetarian products since They use some non vegetarian ingredients such as beeswax, Honey, Silk and Cholesterol which could be from milk or animal fat.

The customer service is based in Slovenia in Europe. There is written contradiction of their claim that some of their products are made with gelatin which could be from pork or beef. Wed, Mar 6, at 4: The Body Shop; Ref: We aim to avoid the use of animal-derived ingredients wherever possible and specify non-animal ingredients whenever there is a choice. All our soaps, for example, use a vegetable base rather than the commonly used animal-fat base. Where synthetic forms or derivatives of these materials are available, such as lactic acid, these are always specified for our formulations.

We do not use the ingredient "carmine" in our product formulations. Should you need further assistance with this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you once again for contacting The Body Shop. I hope you find the level of service provided to you via this correspondence satisfactory.

If you are not satisfied or need immediate assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Care Center at: MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not. The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement.

The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. It was concluded that if same ingredients statement found on these soft drinks in any part of the world then results of alcohol presence or absence in soft drinks reported by MCG on its website will be same in any part of the world. Carbonated water, sugar, color caramel Ed , phosphoric acid, natural flavorings including caffeine.

During the processing of Steviol Glycosides ethyl alcohol is used to crystallized the Steviol Glycosides. Carbonated water, sugar, colour D , UK: MCG requests Muslim consumers in Australia, France, England and India to write the ingredients list from Pepsi and 7Up containers and send to us through e-mail at halalfoods.

Every soft drink company sells their product in the form of concentrates and bottlers add specific amount of carbonated water and sweetener to make final soft drink product. They do not use a single natural flavor but multiple natural flavors. Since most natural flavors are made with ethyl alcohol as a solvent, so amount of alcohol in natural flavors is more than a single natural flavor.

Second the natural flavors is the second last ingredient of formula and caffeine is last one. It means the natural flavors is more than Caffeine. This is the reason the lab analysis of Cocoa Cola, Pepsi and 7 UP at a independent lab in Chicago area shows that Coca Cola has more alcohol compare to Pepsi which do not show any alcohol at all.

Pepsi contains a single Natural Flavor and it is the last ingredient of the ingredients statement compared to Coca Cola and 7 UP. It means the amount of natural flavor added to formula is less in Pepsi compared to Coca Cola and 7 UP.

It means the amount of natural flavor is less in Pepsi because the citric acid is 2nd last ingredient and caffeine is third last ingredient. Natural Flavor in Pepsi is last ingredient in ingredients statement. The highest the amount of a ingredient in a formula will be placed first under the ingredients statement of any product. In conclusion Coca Cola in any part of world will have alcohol in it.

It was proved by a independent lab in Chicago area USA and also a lab in France by Le Monde Le Progres reported that 10 out of 19 sodas tested by the magazine contained alcohol, including Coke and Pepsi. Here is statement from Dr.

Pepper company who make Dr. Pepper, Canada Dry and 7 UP: March 23, Dear Ahmed: The Pepsi has showed less than 0. The source of alcohol in soft drinks comes only from natural flavor, all other ingredients do not posses any alcohol.

Gatorade is kosher certified but company is refusing to provide the information about presence or absence of alcohol in natural flavor. Gelatin listed under ingredients statement or part of the capsule makes vitamins. Only Fish gelatin is Halal and it should be mentioned under ingredients statement. Magnesium Stearate is helps in flowing the other ingredients and is a fat based emulsifier and it could be obtained either from pork fat or vegetable fat.

Only vegetable fat Magnesium Stearate is consider Halal. FDA also allows manufacturer not to mentioned under the ingredients statement. The hidden or processing aid ingredients must be from Halal sources. Pharmaceutical glaze, vegetable beet glaze, Shellac, Lac Resin are used to coat the vitamin tablets to protect them from breaking.

All glazes are made by dissolving insect secretion Shellac in alcohol and applying the glaze on the tablets. So please do not buy the vitamins with coating. They become Non Halal if alcohol was used as a solvent.

It is better to avoid those vitamins with extract otherwise you have to call the manufacturer to find out whether alcohol was used as a solvent or not. Most of the time alcohol is used for extraction from plants. Alcohol might be used as a solvent in natural flavor so it is better to avoid consuming vitamins with natural flavors. Majority of natural flavors are made with vanilla.

If vanilla is used as a natural flavor then the natural flavor will not be Halal. All chewable vitamins specially for kids are made with natural flavor. You have to contact the manufacturer whether alcohol was used as a solvent or not. Ingredients where alcohol was used during its processing and they are added to vitamins: Alcohol is used during the manufacturing of some ingredients such as Stevia which is a n atural sweetener called Steviol Glycol. It is extracted from Stevia plant by water but crystallized it by use of ethyl alcohol.

Dart corporation is still using the animal by product based Zinc Stearte to molds for making foam cups. Here are the correspondence with them:. We understand that you would like to have additional information regarding the specific Dart products where zinc stearate is involved in the manufacturing process. Those products are a.

Those products are as follows: Thank you for your inquiry. Zinc stearate is used in the manufacturing process for Dart foam cups, foam dinnerware, foam hinged containers, and clear OPS containers. Zinc stearate is not used to manufacture Dart impact plastic dinnerware, cutlery, translucent cups, clear PET cups, or clear Polypropylene cups.

Zinc stearate is derived from a number of sources , including animal by-products. For additional information, please refer to the following Position Statement on Zinc Stearate. Many food companies and restaurants manufacture or serve beer battered fried fish or potatoes products in USA, Canada and Europe. They use same fryers and same vegetable oil to fry both beer battered fish or potatoes and non beer battered fish or potatoes products. In seafood restaurants if you see beer battered under menu then please do not order any fried fish such as Red Lobster and other sea food restaurants.

Similarly frozen fried fish and frozen fried potato brands such as Gorton, Van De Kemps , McCain, Or-Ida make frozen beer battered fried fish and fried potato. So non beer battered frozen are contaminated with beer because beer cannot be removed from frying vegetable oil. So all their non beer battered fried are contaminated with beer in the batter. The grilled or broiled frozen fish or potato products are not contaminated with beer. But make sure those products are Halal. A list of Halal frozen broiled or grilled frozen fish and potatoes are listed on our website.

Hello Abdulrahman, Thanks for reaching out to us about our products, and whether or not alcohol is used in our flavoring. All of our products that contain flavor also contain alcohol because it is one of only a few solvents approved by National Organic Standards. Other solvents are often chemical based and not allowed in organic ingredients. Sincerely, The folks at Stonyfield.

The ingredients listed on Maggi Noodle Soups look to be Halal but they do not report Hidden Haram Ingredients on the ingredients statement. Then how a Muslim consumers know for sure that there is no pork by product or ethyl alcohol based ingredients are used as a processing aid or Hidden Ingredients.

Uses of Dewaxed Bleached Shellac in Confectionery The main uses of Dewaxed Bleached Shellac in the confectionery industry are for the coating chocolate goods, such as extruded chocolates, chocolate covered nuts and resins, and similar products. Solvents Pure ethyl alcohol is the usual solvent for shellac for confectionery glazes.

But each country has its own special regulations for the denaturing of alcohol, and isopropyl alcohol is also widely used. In the USA alcohol containing 35 percent of shellac is deemed to be denatured. The Body Shop products are not recommended to be use by Muslims.

The Procter Gamble Company can not give guarantee that it will be pork free, they will use pork by product if other source are not available. The reference number is of March 4, The e-mail below is causing lot of confusion among our million Muslim consumers who do not consume any food product made with ethyl alcohol. If you correct the e-mail this way then our consumer will not have any confusion: Our vanillin does not contain alcohol.

Alcohol is used as a processing agent in flavors and is removed. MCG tried very hard to get the technical information from Giordano Pizza Company without any success because there is no technical person works for this pizza company and they always refer to store manager who have no knowledge.

He only says the their ingredients are natural and will not allow inside to look at ingredients cases. Probotics are friendly bacteria and yeast to our digestive system by improving imbalances in our digestive system and provide health benefit not nutrition.

Certain species of Bifidobacterium or Lactobacillus bacteria are probiotic. Starter culture bacteria for cheese and yogurt are Lactobacillus bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus. In addition Lactobacillus acidophilus and Streptococcus lactose are added to yogurts. Whereas during fermentation of yogurt lactic acid, acetic acid, diacetyl and acetaldehyde are formed and they are all Halal. Although probiotic bacteria and yeast are good bacteria and yeast providing health benefit but they perform alcoholic fermentation where as no alcoholic fermentation happened during yogurt processing.

So MCG recommend Halal yogurts over fermented dairy drinks using probiotic bacteria. The organisms are bacteria such as Lactobacillus, Bifidobacterium, Lactococcus, Leuconstoc, Pediococcus, Propionibacterium, Streptococcus, Bacillus and yeast such as Saccharomyces, Schizosaccharomyces, Xantothophyllomyces. From Halal point of view, only probiotic bacteria which perform lactic acid fermentation by producing lactic acid are consider Halal.

The probiotic yeasts which perform alcoholic fermentation by producing alcohol are consider not Halal. Only manufacturers know what type of probiotic microorganism were used in probiotic foods. Then we have to contact them to verify the Halal status of probiotic microorganism used in the probiotic foods. Unilever has informed MCG that Clear Shampoos and Conditioners are made with animal protein which could be pork or non zabiha beef.

Traces of pork" found in UK prison food served as halal http: Two very popular Post brand of cereals Alphabit and Honey Comb was reformulated and firs time in 30 years a natural flavor was added to them.

Natural Flavor cereal is mostly natural vanilla base, then they are not considered Halal. Musfar Ahmed has provide this e-mail: The majority of artificial flavors do contain carriers which are chemically known as alcohols, however this information is also proprietary. But in the case of dry finished food ie.

Thank you again for contacting Post Foods. We hope this information is beneficial to you. Ashley Lambert Consumer Response Representative. McDonald's and Finley's Management Co. IOWA CITY, Iowa — The maker of a popular brand of food for observant Muslims says it is facing a potentially crippling investigation into whether it falsely labeled meat products as processed in compliance with Islamic law.

No criminal or civil charges have been filed, and U. District Judge Linda Reade ruled that the government's affidavit supporting its search warrant can remain secret so as not to "compromise an ongoing investigation.

Department of Agriculture and Internal Revenue Service. Miramar said in court filings that the seizures relate to vague allegations that it improperly branded and sold meat products as meeting Muslim dietary requirements, called halal, when they did not. The privately held business, which has been in Cedar Rapids for 40 years, dismissed the allegations.

And it claims federal investigators are trying to regulate something that must be left to religions under the U. Constitution's separation of church and state. Midamar says it was the first major U. The company calls itself the leading U.

It largely relies on third-party suppliers for meat that it packages. Reade ruled that she did not believe the company's constitutional argument was "an appropriate basis to quash a warrant" and is premature because no charges have been filed.

Midamar, which has 70 employees, says it has been unable to access credit needed to maintain its operation and that some business partners have kept a distance since last month's raid became public. It warned in one filing that it could soon have to close its doors. Reade ruled that Midamar failed to show that the money seizure amounted to shutting down the business.

Navigation menu